Alphabet Soup

  • AIF® - Accredited Investment Fiduciary:

    The Accredited Investment Fiduciary® (AIF®) designation represents a thorough knowledge of and ability to apply the fiduciary Practices. AIF designees have a reputation in the industry for the ability to implement a prudent process into their own investment practices as well as being able to assist others in implementing proper policies and procedures.
  • CFP ®- Certified Financial Planner:

    The CFP (Certified Financial Planner) designation, offered by the College of Financial Planning in Denver, Colorado, is regarded as one of the best credentials a financial professional can achieve. While the CFA is geared toward institutional money managers, the CFP is geared toward planners who work with individual clients. The CFP is earned through first mastering six core course modules. After the course modules are completed, a 10-hour comprehensive exam must be passed.
  • CFS - Certified Fund Specialist:

    A certification indicating an individual's expertise in mutual funds and the mutual fund industry. These individuals advise clients on which mutual funds best suit their particular needs. The CFS designation does not license individuals to buy or sell mutual funds; however, in many cases Certified Fund Specialists do have this license, which enables them to buy and sell the funds for their clients.
  • EA - Enrolled Agent:

    A tax professional authorized by the U.S. government to be able to represent taxpayers in matters concerning the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Enrolled agents must pass an examination proving competence or having sufficient experience as an IRS employee, as well as passing a background check, before receiving the designation.
  • CMFC - Chartered Mutual Fund Counselor:

    A professional designation awarded by the College for Financial Planning to financial services professionals who complete a study program and pass an exam covering mutual fund topics. Successful applicants earn the right to use the CMFC designation with their names for two years, which can improve job opportunities, professional reputation and pay. Every two years, CMFC professionals must complete 16 hours of continuing education and pay a nominal fee to continue using the designation.